

OFFICERS

PRESIDENT, 2019-20

Patrick Griffis Dolby Labs

PAST PRESIDENT, 2019-20

Matthew Goldman MediaKind

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, 2019-20

Hans Hoffmann FRII

STANDARDS VICE PRESIDENT, 2018-19

Bruce Devlin Mr MXF Ltd

FINANCE VICE PRESIDENT. 2018-19

Patricia Keighley Imax Corporation

EDUCATION VICE PRESIDENT, 2019-20

Sara Kudrle

Imagine Communications

MEMBERSHIP VICE PRESIDENT, 2018-19

Peter Wharton

SECRETARY/TREASURER, 2019-20,

John Ferder Multidyne Video and Fiber Óptic Systems

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Barbara H. Lange SMPTE Headquarters

DIRECTORS

STANDARDS

Chris Lennon Medianswers Dave Schnuelle Dolby

Paul Treleaven

EDUCATION David Long

Rochester Institute of Technology Jaclyn Pytlarz

Dolby Peter Putman

ROAM Consulting Yvonne Thomas

MediaPortal

MEMBERSHIP

Francois Abbe Consultant John Shike VMI Inc.

Maciej Ochman

Corp. for Public Broadcasting Karl Kuhn

Tektronix

GOVERNORS

GOVERNORS-AT-LARGE, 2019

Brian Claypool Christie Digital Systems Seth Hallen

Pixelogic Media Partners, LLC

ASIA/PACIFIC REGION

Ward Hansford, 2018-19 Grass Valley Masayuki Sugawara, 2019-20 NEC Corporation

CANADIAN REGION

Sylvain Marcotte, 2019-20 Miranda Technologies Inc. Paul Briscoe, 2018-19 Televisionary Consulting

CENTRAL REGION

William T. Hayes, 2019-20 Iowa Public Television

EASTERN REGION

Renard Jenkins, 2018-19 PRS James Burger, 2019-20 Thompson Coburn

HOLLYWOOD REGION

Paul Chapman, 2018-19 SIM Group Michael DeValue, 2019-20 Walt Disney Studios Christopher Fetner, 2019-20

EMEA, CENTRAL & SOUTH AMERICA REGION

Netflix

Siegfried Foessel, 2019–20 Fraunhofer IIS
Francois Abbe, 2019–20 Qvest Media

NEW YORK REGION

Rosemarie Lockwood, 2019-20 Consultant

Thomas Mauro, 2018-19 Arvato Systems North America

SOUTHERN REGION

Merrick Ackermans, 2018–19 MVA Broadcast Consulting Michael Koetter, 2019-20 Turner Broadcasting

U.K. REGION

Mark Harrison, 2018-19 Digital Production Partnership (DPP)

Marina Kalkanis 2019-20 M2a Media

WESTERN REGION

Gary Mandle, 2019-20 Ben Waggoner, 2018-19 Amazon

SECTION CHAIRS

ATLANTA

Bob Baker Turner Broadcasting

AUSTRALIA

Paul Broderick Telstra

CENTRAL TEXAS

Rick Ackermans (Governor)

CHICAGO

Brian Claypool (Governor)

DALLAS/FORT WORTH

Michael Koetter (Governor)

DETROIT

Frank J. Maynard CBS Television Stations

FLORIDA

Ken Botelho

Principle Engineering Consultant GERMANY Siegfried Foessel (Governor)

Fraunhofer IIS

HOLLYWOOD

Jim DeFilippis TMS Consulting

HONG KONG

Tony Ngai

Salon Films (H.K.) Ltd. INDIA Ujwal Nirgudkar

KPMG India

ITALY Alfredo Bartelletti

BLT Italia srl MONTREAL/QUEBEC

Daniel Guevin Radio Canada

NASHVILLE

Michael Koetter (Governor)

NEW ENGLAND

Martin P. Feldman The Camera Co., Inc.

NEW YORK

Jeff Cohen IMT-Vislink

NORDIC

Francois Abbe (Governor)

PHILADELPHIA

ACV Video Solutions

OHIO

John R. Owen Q Communications, LLC

PACIFIC/NORTHWEST

Mark Siegel Advanced Broadcast **PITTSBURGH**

Daniel Turk NEP Group **POLAND**

Kamil Rutkowski Di Factory

ROCHESTER

Ricardo R. Figueroa Rochester Institute of Technology

ROCKY MOUNTAIN

Tom Craig Rocky Mountain PBS

RUSSIA

Oleg Berezin Nevafilm Co.

SACRAMENTO

Tim Walker Grass Valley, A Belden Brand

SAN FRANCISCO

Keith Ian Graham Graham Associates

TORONTO Leigh Whitcomb

Imagine Communications

UNITED KINGDOM Simon Gauntlett

Dolby

WASHINGTON, D.C.

Tom Hackett Diversified

STUDENT CHAPTERS BY SECTION

AUSTRALIA

Charles Sturt University Wagga Wagga, NSW, Australia

Sydney Student Section Sydney, Australia

DALLAS

Baylor University Waco, TX

CHICAGO

Purdue University West Lafayette, IÑ

FLORIDA Full Sail University Winterpark, FL

HOLLYWOOD Los Angeles City College Los Angeles, CA Pasadena City College Pasadena, CA Media Arts Collaborative Charter School

Albuquerque, NM USC University of Southern Los Angeles, CA

California

HONG KONG

Hong Kong Design Institute (HKDI) Hong Kong

Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (IVE) New Territories, Hong Kong

NEW ENGLAND Stonehill College Easton, MA Fitchburg State University Fitchburg, MA

NEW YORK

Borough of Manhattan Community College New York, NY **Bronx Community College** Bronx NY New York City College of Technology

Brooklyn, NY Kingsborough Community College

William Patterson University

Brooklyn, NY Rowan University Glassboro, NJ

Wayne, NJ

PHILADELPHIA Millersville University Millersville, PA

ROCHESTER

Rochester Institute of Technology Rochester, NY

UNITED KINGDOM

Birmingham, U.K. Ravensbourne London, U.K. Southampton Solent University Southampton, Hampshire, U.K. University of Salford Manchester, U.K.

Birmingham City University

University of Surrey Guildford, U.K.

WASHINGTON, DC George Mason University Fairfax, VA Loyola University

Baltimore, MD **BOARD OF EDITORS**

John Belton, Chairman Ioan Allen Harvey Arnold David Bancroft Al Barton Steve Bilow V. Michael Bove Wavne Bretl John Brooks Angela Bünger Patrick Candry **Dominic Case** Curtis Chan Philip Cianci

Andres C. Colpa

Greg Coppa Don Craig Michael DeValue Michael A. Dolan Thomas Edwards John Emmett Lincoln L. Endelman John Ferder Nuno Fonseca John Footen Norbert Gerfelder **Brad Gilmer** Paul R. Goldberg Keith Graham Eric Gsell Scott Hamilton John Hartwell Paul Hearty Hans Hoffmann Randall Hoffner Tomlinson Holman Fred Huffman

Kim lannone Kees Schouhamer Immink

Stephen Jensen Louis Kerofsky Al Kovalick Sara Kudrle W. J. Kumeling

Vicki Lau Michael Liebman Peter Ludé Ian MacSpadden

Andrew H. Maltz Tets Maniwa Richard Marcus

Donald C. McCroskey William C. Miller

Natalie Morningstar Neil Neubert

James E. O'Neal Pirkko Oittinen Karl Paulsen

Glen Pensinger Felix Poulin Charles Poynton Pete Putman Ed Reuss

Adam Schadle Mark Schubin Gavin Schutz Thomas A. Scott

Neil Shaw Wes Simpson Akash Singh Michael Smith

James Snyder Kevin Stec Steve Storozum Stephen A. Stough

Peter D. Symes Paul Thurston Aleksandar Todorović Upasna Vishnoi

Reinhad E. Wagnerr Evans Wetmore Jerry Whitaker Jim Wilkinson William Y. Zou

SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal (ISSN: 1545-0279) published 10 times per year by the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers, Inc., 445 Hamilton Ave., Suite 601, White Plains, NY 10601. Periodicals postage paid at WhitePlains, NY, and at additional mailing office. Copyright © 2019 by the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers, Inc. No part of this issue may be reproduced without written permission of the publisher. Statements and opinions expressed in articles or editorials in the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal are expressions of contributors and do not necessarily represent the policies or opinions of the Society. A complete list of SMPTE membership types and benefits is available at www.smpte.org. Advertisements appearing in this publication are the sole responsibility of the advertiser. Subscription rates: SMPTE Members, \$35 USD, included in membership dues; straight subscription: \$1.000 (shipping included); SMPTE owns the copyrights to all published material, unless otherwise stated. SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal is registered with Canada Post: CPM# 41003019. POSTMASTER: Send change of address to SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal, 445 Hamilton Ave., Suite 601, White Plains, NY 10601. All rights reserved. PRINTED IN THE USA