By Topic

Fuzzy-Based Movement-Assisted Sensor Deployment Method in Wireless Sensor Networks

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
A. Osmani ; Dept. Electr., Comput., Islamic Azad Univ., Qazvin, Iran ; M. Dehghan ; H. Pourakbar ; P. Emdadi

Adequate coverage is one of the main problems for sensor networks. The effectiveness of distributed wireless sensor networks highly depends on the sensor deployment scheme. Given a finite number of sensors, optimizing the sensor deployment will provide sufficient sensor coverage and save power of sensors for movement to target location to adequate coverage. In many working environments, for getting good coverage, we must able to move sensors to adequate places. In this paper, we apply fuzzy logic system to optimize the sensor placement after an initial random deployment. Based on Voronoi diagrams and fuzzy logic, we design a distributed algorithm for controlling the movement of sensors. In our algorithm, we use Voronoi diagram to detect coverage holes and calculate the target locations of sensors. Simulation results show that our approach maximizes the sensor coverage with less energy consumption for movement and decreases necessary movement for reaching to high coverage by adequate using of fuzzy logic and introducing ST-FACTOR.

Published in:

Computational Intelligence, Communication Systems and Networks, 2009. CICSYN '09. First International Conference on

Date of Conference:

23-25 July 2009