Cart (Loading....) | Create Account
Close category search window

Fault-tolerant Newton-Raphson and Goldschmidt dividers using time shared TMR

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Gallagher, W.L. ; Cirrus Logic, Austin, TX, USA ; Swartzlander, E.E.

Iterative division algorithms based on multiplication are popular because they are fast and may utilize an already existing hardware multiplier. Two popular methods based on multiplication are Newton-Raphson and Goldschmidt's algorithm. To achieve concurrent error correction, Time Shared Triple Modular Redundancy (TSTMR) may be applied to both kinds of dividers. The hardware multiplier is divided into thirds, and the rest of the divider logic replicated around each part, to provide three independent dividers. While this reduces the size of the fault-tolerant dividers over that of traditional TMR, latency may be increased. However, both division algorithms can be modified to use lower precision multiplications during the early iterations. This saves multiply cycles and, hence, produces a faster divider

Published in:

Computers, IEEE Transactions on  (Volume:49 ,  Issue: 6 )

Date of Publication:

Jun 2000

Need Help?

IEEE Advancing Technology for Humanity About IEEE Xplore | Contact | Help | Terms of Use | Nondiscrimination Policy | Site Map | Privacy & Opting Out of Cookies

A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest professional association for the advancement of technology.
© Copyright 2014 IEEE - All rights reserved. Use of this web site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions.