By Topic

Artificial Neural Network-based electricity price forecasting for smart grid deployment

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Neupane, B. ; Masdar Inst. of Sci. & Technol., Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates ; Perera, K.S. ; Aung, Z. ; Wei Lee Woon

A deregulated electricity market is one of the keystones of up-and-coming smart grid deployments. In such a market, forecasting electricity prices is essential to helping stakeholders with the decision making process. Electricity price forecasting is an inherently difficult problem due to its special characteristics of dynamicity and nonstationarity. In our research, we use an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) model on carefully crafted input features for forecasting hourly electricity prices for the next 24 hours. The input features are selected from a pool of features derived from information such as past electricity price data, weather data, and calendar data. A wrapper method for feature selection is used in which the ANN model is continuously trained and updated in order to select the best feature set. The performance of the proposed method is evaluated and compared with the published results of the state-of-the-art Pattern Sequence-based Forecasting (PSF) method on the same data sets and our method is observed to provide superior results.

Published in:

Computer Systems and Industrial Informatics (ICCSII), 2012 International Conference on

Date of Conference:

18-20 Dec. 2012