Scheduled System Maintenance:
On May 6th, single article purchases and IEEE account management will be unavailable from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM ET (12:00 - 21:00 UTC). We apologize for the inconvenience.
By Topic

Optimized hybrid MOEMS sensors based on noise considerations

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

7 Author(s)
Hortschitz, W. ; Inst. for Integrated Sensor Syst., Wiener Neustadt, Austria ; Encke, J. ; Kohl, F. ; Sauter, T.
more authors

Micro mechanical light flux modulators enable high resolution inertial displacement sensors that are virtually free from reaction forces. The presented MOEMS (Micro-Opto-Electro-Mechanical System) transducer modulates the light flux of an LED by the relative movement of two aperture gratings one etched into a seismic mass and the other fixed to the sensor package. The modulated flux is registered by a photo transistor and amplified using a transimpedance amplifier. Theoretical examinations suggested that apertures featuring a high aspect ratio are performing best. Applying these design rules, an increase in sensitivity by a factor 4.72 to 0.532 μA/nm at a frequency of 10 kHz and an improvement in displacement resolution from 10.7 pm/ √Hz to 2.26 pm/ √Hz was found when compared to prior prototypes featuring a comparable mechanical characteristic. The system was also found to follow a linear characteristic over the tested amplitude range.

Published in:

Sensors, 2012 IEEE

Date of Conference:

28-31 Oct. 2012