By Topic

Improving the performances of surface Plasmon resonance sensor in the infrared region by adding thin dielectric over-layer

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Atef Shalabney ; Department of Electro-Optic Engineering and the Ilse Katz, Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology, Beer Sheva 84105, Israel ; Ibrahim Abdulhalim

The implications of adding thin dielectric film with high refractive index (RI) on top of the transducer metallic layer in surface Plasmon resonance (SPR) sensors are extensively investigated particularly in the infrared in the spectral mode. An over-layer made of silicon with thickness of about 10 nm is introduced on top of the silver metallic layer in SPR sensors when the Kretschmann-Raether (KR) configuration is used. The spectral interrogation is considered and the thickness of the dielectric over-layer is below the cutoff thickness of the lowest guided TM mode. The additional film causes to red-shift the resonance wavelength, narrowing of the dip in the reflectance spectrum, and enhancing the spectral sensitivity and the figure of merit (FOM) of the sensor. Furthermore, adding the top dielectric film enhances the electromagnetic fields at the analyte interface, increases the penetration depth inside the sensed medium, and improves the stability of the sensor.

Published in:

Electrical & Electronics Engineers in Israel (IEEEI), 2012 IEEE 27th Convention of

Date of Conference:

14-17 Nov. 2012