By Topic

Numerical Computation of Wellbore Dynamic Pressure during Perforating

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Cheng-bing Li ; Mechatron. Eng. Coll., Southwest Pet. Univ., Chengdu, China ; Ming-yong Ma

The wellbore dynamic pressure waves are produced in the perforation liquid after the shaped charges are initiated and then fiercely strike the gunstring, packer, casing and artificial bottom. The impact and damage effect only depend on the amplitude and holding time of dynamic pressures. This paper discusses the simplification of perforators' explosion with gun in the oil well. On the basis of simplification model, the finite element method is applied to compute the wellbore dynamic pressure under different working conditions. The simulation results indicate that peak compression enhances and the duration of platform pressures obviously prolongs with the perforators' amount once detonated increasing. The holding time of platform pressure clearly prolongs with the accretion of perforator's explosive charge mass. The peak compression and holding time of reflection waves decrease with the augment of distance between the end of tubing and artificial bottom. The peak compression and holding time must be lowered if possible to avoid undesirable failures and damage during perforating operation.

Published in:

Computational and Information Sciences (ICCIS), 2012 Fourth International Conference on

Date of Conference:

17-19 Aug. 2012