By Topic

FPGA-based wireless sensor network platform for safety systems

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Hayek, A. ; Comput. Archit. & Syst. Program., Univ. of Kassel, Kassel, Germany ; Machmur, B. ; Suna, Y. ; Borcsok, J.

Sensor communication applications not only require high performance processing but also flexible and reliable computing. Today, standard microprocessor systems are still application oriented and aren't suitable by implication for reliability-related and safety-related applications. In order to achieve a certain safety integrity level (SIL), several measures, methodologies and especially additional components should be considered, which leads to more and more complex systems. For this reason, new application devices should be targeted. In this context, reconfigurable devices such as SRAM-based Field Programmable Gates Arrays (FPGAs) provide a suitable solution due to their flexibility, and the necessary computing performance at affordable design cost and time. In fact, SRAM-Based FPGAs are nowadays frequently used in embedded communication systems due to their design flexibility and reconfigurability. This paper presents a prototyping platform for an FPGA-based safety-related communication system for a wireless sensor network. As a case study an acceleration sensor application is introduced.

Published in:

Telecommunications (ICT), 2012 19th International Conference on

Date of Conference:

23-25 April 2012