By Topic

A novel technique of integrating the conventional algorithms for broadcasting protocols to reduce the redundancy in wireless ad-hoc networks

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Md. Amir Hasnat ; Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, American International University-Bangladesh, Dhaka, Bangladesh ; Shuvashis Dey ; Anirban Saha

The broadcasting protocols for transmission from peer to peer ad-hoc networks are currently a topic of enormous interest. There are several traditional algorithms which deal with the transmission of information from one source to another in the wireless ad-hoc networks. However, these conventional algorithms are not capable of eliminating the data redundancy completely. This study proposes a new technique of merging the traditional algorithms to absolutely eradicate the data redundancy problem in such networks. The customary algorithms such as the counter, distance and location based schemes only provide with a generalized methods of transmitting and reboradcasting information from one node to another but do not address the redundancy problem. The proposed method integrates the counter and location based schemes with the distance based method respectively and compares their performances to get rid of the unnecessary re-transmission of information .

Published in:

Computer and Information Technology (ICCIT), 2011 14th International Conference on

Date of Conference:

22-24 Dec. 2011