By Topic

A unified model-based fault diagnosis scheme for nonlinear discrete-time systems with additive and multiplicative faults

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Hasan Ferdowsi ; Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, 65401, USA ; S. Jagannathan

In this paper, a novel model-based fault diagnosis scheme is proposed for a class of uncertain nonlinear discrete-time systems which can be subjected to both additive and multiplicative faults. Faults are detected by using a novel (FD) observer consisting of two online approximators in discrete-time (OLAD) and a robust adaptive term. Upon detection, a fault diagnosis scheme is introduced to determine the fault type by monitoring the input residual generated via the first OLAD output. Then the appropriate OLAD is included in the observer while the other OLAD is switched off. Next, by using both the parameter update law of the active OLAD and user-selected failure thresholds, an online time-to-failure (TTF) scheme is introduced. Boundedness and asymptotic convergence of the residual and parameter estimation errors respectively are derived in the case of multiplicative and additive faults respectively. Finally a simulation example is used to demonstrate the proposed fault diagnosis scheme.

Published in:

2011 50th IEEE Conference on Decision and Control and European Control Conference

Date of Conference:

12-15 Dec. 2011