By Topic

Formal Verification of Software Designs in Hierarchical State Transition Matrix with SMT-based Bounded Model Checking

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

6 Author(s)
Weiqiang Kong ; Fukuoka Ind., Sci. & Technol. Found., Fukuoka, Japan ; Katahira, N. ; Watanabe, M. ; Katayama, T.
more authors

Hierarchical State Transition Matrix (HSTM) is a table-based modeling language for developing designs of software systems. Although widely used and adopted by (particularly Japanese) software industry, there is still lack of mechanized formal verification supports for conducting rigorous and automatic analysis to improve reliability of HSTM designs. In this paper, we first present a formalization of HSTM designs as state transition systems. Consequentially, based on this formalization, we propose a symbolic encoding approach, through which correctness of a HSTM design with respect to LTL properties could be represented as Bounded Model Checking (BMC) problems that could be determined by Satisfiability Modulo Theories (SMT) solving. We have implemented our encoding approach in a tool called Garakabu2 with the state-of-the-art SMT solver CVC3 as its back-ended solver. Furthermore, in our preliminary experiments, a conceptually simple but steadily effective way of accelerating SMT solving for HSTM designs is investigated and reported.

Published in:

Software Engineering Conference (APSEC), 2011 18th Asia Pacific

Date of Conference:

5-8 Dec. 2011