By Topic

A 60-GHz single-ended-to-differential vector sum phase shifter in CMOS for phased-array receiver

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
Jen-Chu Wu ; Graduate Institute of Communication Engineering and Department of Electrical Engineering National, Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan, 10617, R.O.C ; Jui-Chih Kao ; Jhe-Jia Kuo ; Kun-Yao Kao
more authors

A 60-GHz vector sum phase shifter with single-ended-to-differential function for phased array receiver using 90-nm LP CMOS technology is presented. This phase shifter incorporates a four-way quadrature power divider as a vector generator with two variable gain amplifiers and a vector modulator to achieve full-360° phase synthesizing. For 4-bit operation (22.5° phase resolution) from 57-64 GHz, this phase shifter exhibits a gain error and a phase error for all the 16 states of within 2.5 dB and 11°, respectively. The RMS gain error at the two output ports are both under 1.2 dB, and the RMS phase error is under 10.5°. The RMS gain imbalance and phase imbalance between the differential outputs are under 0.8 dB and 5.2°, respectively. The average gain of one of the differential outputs at 60 GHz is -5.4 dB, and the input and output return losses are both over 10 dB. This chip consumes 34 mW from a 1.2-V supply. The chip size including all the pads is 0.96 × 0.69 mm2.

Published in:

Microwave Symposium Digest (MTT), 2011 IEEE MTT-S International

Date of Conference:

5-10 June 2011