By Topic

Adaptive subcarrier and bit allocation techniques for MIMO-OFDMA based uplink cognitive radio networks

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Rahulamathavan, Y. ; Dept. of Electron. & Electr. Eng., Adv. Signal Process. Group, Loughborough Univ., Loughborough, UK ; Cumanan, K. ; Krishna, R. ; Lambotharan, S.

We propose an adaptive radio resource allocation algorithm for a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) based uplink cognitive radio network (CRN). The CRN has multiple secondary users (SUs) coexisting with multiple primary users (PUs). The aim is to admit as many SUs as possible in various subcarriers while ensuring no interference is leaked to PUs. This is achieved by letting the SUs to transmit signals through the null-space of the channels seen between SUs and the primary network basestation (PNBS). Subcarriers are allocated based on the correlation coefficient of the left singular vector of the MIMO channels seen between various SUs and the secondary network basestation (SNBS). Once the SUs are allocated in various subcarriers, the radio resource management in terms of power and bit allocation is performed on a per user basis using an integer linear programming framework. The performance of the algorithm has been evaluated using simulation results.

Published in:

Cognitive Wireless Systems (UKIWCWS), 2009 First UK-India International Workshop on

Date of Conference:

10-12 Dec. 2009