By Topic

Monitoring Cloud Computing by Layer, Part 1

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

1 Author(s)
Spring, J. ; Software Engineering Institute

The general characteristics of cloud computing's three service models-software as a service (SaaS), platform as a service (PaaS), and infra structure as a service (IaaS)-include on-demand self service, broad network access, pooling of resources, rapid elasticity of provisioning resources, and service or resource monitoring. On the basis of the Cloud Security Alliance's work, a cloud is modeled in seven layers: facility, network, hardware, OS, middle ware, application, and the user. These layers can be controlled by either the cloud provider or the cloud customer. The paper present a set of recommended restrictions and audits to facilitate cloud security. Although the recommendations might be overkill for deployments involving no sensitive data, they might be insufficient to allow certain information to be hosted in any public or community cloud. Owing to space constraints, the paper only cover the lower four layers. Part 2 will complete the discussion by covering the middleware, application, and user layers.

Published in:

Security & Privacy, IEEE  (Volume:9 ,  Issue: 2 )