Scheduled System Maintenance:
On April 27th, single article purchases and IEEE account management will be unavailable from 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET (18:00 - 20:00 UTC).
We apologize for the inconvenience.
By Topic

Link Scheduling in Wireless Networks with Successive Interference Cancellation

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Shaohe Lv ; Nat. Lab. of Parallel & Distrib. Process., Nat. Univ. of Defense Technol., Changsha, China ; Xiaodong Wang ; Xingming Zhou

Successive interference cancellation (SIC) is an effective technique of multipacket reception to combat interference. As not all collision are resolvable, careful transmission coordination is required. We study link scheduling in wireless networks with SIC at the physical layer. A new model, simultaneity graph (SG), is proposed to characterize the link correlation introduced by SIC. Then two new scheduling schemes are presented: 1) a slot-oriented scheme which assigns a maximal feasible link set to a time slot and 2) a link-oriented scheme which assigns each link a sufficient number of slots. The performance is evaluated by simulations and the results demonstrate that the throughput gain is on average 50% and up to 110% over IEEE 802.11. The complexity of SG is only a bit higher than that of the available widely-used models (e.g., conflict graph).

Published in:

Mobile Ad-hoc and Sensor Networks (MSN), 2010 Sixth International Conference on

Date of Conference:

20-22 Dec. 2010