By Topic

LLF Schedulability Analysis on Multiprocessor Platforms

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Jinkyu Lee ; Dept. of Comput. Sci., KAIST, Daejeon, South Korea ; Arvind Easwaran ; Insik Shin

LLF (Least Laxity First) scheduling, which assigns a higher priority to a task with smaller laxity, has been known as an optimal preemptive scheduling algorithm on a single processor platform. However, its characteristics upon multiprocessor platforms have been little studied until now. Orthogonally, it has remained open how to efficiently schedule general task systems, including constrained deadline task systems, upon multiprocessors. Recent studies have introduced zero laxity (ZL) policy, which assigns a higher priority to a task with zero laxity, as a promising scheduling approach for such systems (e.g., EDZL). Towards understanding the importance of laxity in multiprocessor scheduling, this paper investigates the characteristics of ZL policy and presents the first ZL schedulability test for any work-conserving scheduling algorithm that employs this policy. It then investigates the characteristics of LLF scheduling, which also employs the ZL policy, and derives the first LLF-specific schedulability test on multiprocessors. It is shown that the proposed LLF test dominates the ZL test as well as the state-of-art EDZL test.

Published in:

Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS), 2010 IEEE 31st

Date of Conference:

Nov. 30 2010-Dec. 3 2010