By Topic

Performance Evaluation of AODV and OLSR-Meshed IP-Enabled IEEE802.15.4

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Lewandowski, A. ; Commun. Networks Inst. (CNI), Dortmund Univ. of Technol., Dortmund, Germany ; Koster, V. ; Wietfeld, C.

Safety critical applications of IEEE 802.15.4 networks require autonomous network reconfiguration and dynamic meshing in case of node failures or changing environmental influences. In contrast to the classical approach of wireless sensor networks, this paper focuses on the development of enhanced network services like multimedia transmissions in a gas concentration monitoring scenario. Therefore, this paper demonstrates the application of Ad hoc On Demand Distance Vector (AODV) and Optimized Link State Routing (OLSR) on IEEE 802.15.4 nodes based on an IP layer-instead of relying on the standard ZigBee configuration. The new network configuration is evaluated for handover processes between mobile and stationary nodes. The time delay, maximum throughput and generated overhead is compared between the two routing protocols for different node constellations. Finally, the lifetime of the node is evaluated in comparison to the ordinary IEEE 802.15.4 configuration and IEEE 802.11. Concluding, the application of AODV and OLSR for power-constrained IEEE 802.15.4 nodes is proposed.

Published in:

Advances in Mesh Networks (MESH), 2010 Third International Conference on

Date of Conference:

18-25 July 2010