By Topic

The design and implementation of high speed manchester II bus physical interface

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Kai Hu ; Dept. of Computer Science and Technology, Beihang University, Beijing, China ; Hong Jiang ; Jian Wei Niu

Manchester II coding is now widely used in many aerospace and aeronautics bus protocols. In all these protocols, the maximum data transfer rate is less than 20Mbps. Due to lack of core physical interface (PHY), higher data transfer rate can not be achieved, and key system performance can not be raised as well. To break this bottleneck, a new type fiber-optic bus PHY was designed and implemented. In addition, related simulation and debugging work was performed. In this paper, a novel sampling technique called multiple-clock-phase-shift (MCPS) is introduced. MCPS is different from traditional asynchronous serial data sampling technique such as oversampling and general clock data recovery (CDR) technique. It uses multiple stable clocks in FPGA to sample input serial data, and combines sampling bits into one output result. In the combination process of sampling results, the state transition of the FPGA logic should depend on specific bus protocol. Using MCPS technique, high speed serial data can be correctly obtained by fiber-optic bus PHY.

Published in:

2010 International Conference on Computer, Mechatronics, Control and Electronic Engineering  (Volume:1 )

Date of Conference:

24-26 Aug. 2010