By Topic

A Lifetime Extended Routing Protocol Based on Data Threshold in Wireless Sensor Networks

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Ning Sun ; Dept. of Comput. Sci., Chungbuk Nat. Univ., Cheongju, South Korea ; Nai-bin Su ; Sang-Ho Lee

Recently in order to improve the longevity and energy efficiency of WSN (Wireless Sensor Network), widely research have been carried on. Up to the present, many presented methods are based on clustering hierarchical structure. Nevertheless, these protocols don't consider the problem of data sensibility. Based on cluster hierarchical structure, we propose a routing protocol through which each node verifies the sensed data value whether it exceeds certain threshold before transmitting data. By this way, it can obviously reduce the transmission energy consumption in many ways. We use the concepts of basic value (Bv) and changed rate (Cr) to control the data threshold. According to the difference of cluster head election algorithms, we implement two types of scheme: the protocol based on centralized cluster head election algorithm (LEBDT-C) and the protocol based on distributed algorithm (LEDBT). We evaluated the performance of our proposed protocol and concluded this protocol outperformed existing protocols in terms of energy dissipation and longevity of the network.

Published in:

Computer and Information Technology (CIT), 2010 IEEE 10th International Conference on

Date of Conference:

June 29 2010-July 1 2010