By Topic

EEG signal classification for epilepsy diagnosis based on AR model and RVM

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Min Han ; Faculty of Electronic Information and Electrical Engineering, Dalian University of Technology. CO 116023 China ; Leilei Sun

In this article, we propose a new EEG signal classification method based on Relevance Vector Machine (RVM) and AR model. It can well separate the ictal EEG signals from the inter-ictal ones, this is very important in the diagnosis of epilepsy. Our studies can be divided into three parts: firstly, EEG features were extracted from the signals based on AR models, and then the performance of these features was evaluated; secondly, according to the performance of the features, feature selection was introduced between feature extraction and classifiers; finally, RVM was implemented with different AR models, different kernel widths, and different subsets of the features in order to get an overview of the method. The results indicate that: (1) features extracted based on AR models can well represent the EEG signals in the task of EEG signal classification for epilepsy diagnosis; (2) feature selection is needed between feature extraction and classifiers; (3) the method based on RVM and AR model can well differentiate the two types of EEG signals.

Published in:

Intelligent Control and Information Processing (ICICIP), 2010 International Conference on

Date of Conference:

13-15 Aug. 2010