By Topic

Efficient IR drop analysis and alleviation methodologies using dual threshold voltages with gate resizing techniques

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Yap-Chung Phong ; Dept. of Electr. Eng., Feng-Chia Univ., Tai-Chung, Taiwan ; Ching-Hwa Cheng ; Jiun-In Guo

IR drop impacts circuit delay time and reliability. The IR drop comes from unexpected peak current (Ipeak) consumption. This paper proposes an efficient methodology with in-house EDA tools named IPR to analyze and reduce the Ipeak. IPR adopts dual threshold voltages (Vth) and gate resizing techniques, lowers the short, dynamic and static leakage current consumption without degrading system performance. IPR consists of two parts, i.e. Ipeak analysis and Ipeak alleviation processes. Nonlinear static/dynamic timing analysis techniques in cooperation with dual Vth cell library provide two kinds of accurate Ipeak calculation methods used in IPR. Using the incremental timing analysis, the Ipeak processing time can be accelerated. Demonstration of the ISCAS89 benchmark circuits shows that IPR can reduce Ipeak by 39%, power consumption by 14%, and delay time by 19%. In addition, it provides 334 times faster computation with 2% and 10% estimation errors of the Ipeak and power in gate level, respectively as compared to circuit level simulation results.

Published in:

Green Circuits and Systems (ICGCS), 2010 International Conference on

Date of Conference:

21-23 June 2010