By Topic

Reflections on the 30th Anniversary of the IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)

This article is a retrospective of concepts and people who have contributed significantly to the IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy over the past 30 years. The authors identify many individuals who have contributed to SSP as program chairs, general chairs, and heads of the overseeing IEEE technical committee. They recognize SSP participants who have provided significant leadership in creating and funding opportunities for research and development in security and privacy. Some contributions to advances in security are also discussed in following articles by Carl Landwehr and Douglas Maughan, both of whom have been major instigators of R&D programs at multiple US government agencies. The authors also highlight some influential SSP papers from three decades, and also efforts that have had significant impact in providing or stimulating effective technology transfer, as well as authors and educators whose work provided major contributions to academic curricula, all helping instill trustworthiness into computercommunication security. Finally, they identify some of the anniversary event honorees.

Note: As originally published there was an error in this document. The paper by Peter G. Neumann, Matt Bishop, Sean Peisert, and Marv Schaefer, entitled: "Reflections on the 30th Anniversary of the IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy", written for the May 2010 proceedings of the 31st annual IEEE Symposium on Security and Privacy inadvertently omitted recognition of Sushil Jajodia for the greatest number of accepted papers (in Section VII) and Gerry Popek [d] (in Section IX).  

Published in:

Security and Privacy (SP), 2010 IEEE Symposium on

Date of Conference:

16-19 May 2010