By Topic

D-SeDGAM: A Dynamic Service Differentiation Based GTS Allocation Mechanism for IEEE 802.15.4 WSN

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Berta Carballido Villaverde ; Nimbus Centre for Embedded Syst. Res., Cork Inst. of Technol., Cork, Ireland ; Susan Rea ; Dirk Pesch

The plethora of applications for Wireless Sensor Networks (WSN) has experienced significant growth in recent years. Every application has a different set of requirements and it is highly desirable for all of them to share the available resources in an optimized way. The IEEE 802.15.4 standard for WSN includes guaranteed time slots (GTS) to schedule QoS demanding applications. However, the standard does not provide any type of QoS GTS scheduling mechanism and the authors are unaware of any other work that provides for service differentiation based GTS scheduling. We propose D-SeDGAM, a novel dynamic service based differentiation GTS allocation mechanism to provide QoS and service based differentiation for WSN applications. Our solution takes into account static and transient aspects of QoS provisioning in WSN to construct a dynamic scheduling method. This work demonstrates that D-SeDGAM provides significantly better performance in terms of QoS than the standard allocation method by simultaneously satisfying QoS and service differentiation demands.

Published in:

Information Technology: New Generations (ITNG), 2010 Seventh International Conference on

Date of Conference:

12-14 April 2010