By Topic

A simultaneous dynamic optimization strategy for coordinated voltage control to enhance the voltage stability of the electric power systems

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Mingbo Liu ; Electr. Power Coll., South China Univ. of Technol., Guangzhou, China ; Zheng, W. ; Momoh, J.A.

Based on quasi-steady-state model, the coordinated voltage control problem was represented by an optimization objective subjected to differential-algebraic equations with continuous-discrete time variables. A direct dynamic optimization approach from modern control theories was introduced to solve the dynamic optimization problems. The dynamic optimization problem can be described as nonlinear programming by approximating state variable, algebraic variable and control variable profiles by a family of polynomials on finite time intervals. Considering the discrete control characteristics of the ratios of transformers with on-load tap changers, shunt capacitors and load shedding, a quadratic penalty function was employed to handle corresponding discrete variables. The primal-dual interior point (IP) strategy was applied to solve this nonlinear programming model. The simulation results on New England 10-machine 39-bus system show that the proposed approach can determine effective controls to largely enhance long-term voltage stability of power systems.

Published in:

North American Power Symposium (NAPS), 2009

Date of Conference:

4-6 Oct. 2009