By Topic

A Common Information Exchange Model for Multiple C4I Architectures

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Alghamdi, A.S. ; Dept. of Software Eng., CCIS King Saud Univ., Riyadh, Saudi Arabia ; Siddiqui, Z. ; Quadri, S.S.A.

Information exchange among different architectures has been a massive challenge from the last three decades. Difficulty usually arises when an ideal model that deals with the precise exchange of data among different architectures is needed. Considering the case of military architecture frameworks on a common battle field, exchange of efficient and most precise information is the key for a perfect decision. Data exchange within different defense nodes is still a challenge. In this paper, we propose a general reference model to integrate different Command Control Communication Computer & Intelligent (C4I) systems operating under different defense forces of different coalition groups involved in a common-battle-field. The purpose of this study is to introduce a general reference model utilizing W3C Semantic Web Specification technique for meta-data models based on a software engineering method to develop and maintain usable and precise domain ontology in order to overcome interoperability issues of different C4I architectures exchanging information on a common battle field.

Published in:

Computer Modelling and Simulation (UKSim), 2010 12th International Conference on

Date of Conference:

24-26 March 2010