By Topic

Click Elements: An Implementation Style for Data-Driven Compilation

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Peeters, A. ; Philips Incubators, Eindhoven, Netherlands ; te Beest, F. ; de Wit, M. ; Mallon, W.

This paper presents a new design template and design flow for the implementation of data-driven asynchronous circuits. It relies on the use of edge-triggered flip-flops as the only storage elements, not only for the datapaths, but also for the control circuits; latches and C-elements that are common in many asynchronous circuit design styles are not required. The design template uses a two-phase handshake protocol for inter-component communication. In a pipeline structure, these circuits operate near the speed of Mousetrap circuits, but the required design-flow is simpler. The implementation style -which we refer to as Click elements - has been chosen to resemble synchronous circuits as much as possible. This allows for the use of conventional optimization and timing tools in the design flow and for a cheaper design-for-test implementation. The click templates are well suited for a data-flow driven compilation flow, which avoids much of the control overhead of traditional syntax-directed compilation. The two-phase circuits show a significant improvement in performance and energy efficiency compared to four-phase single-rail circuits.

Published in:

Asynchronous Circuits and Systems (ASYNC), 2010 IEEE Symposium on

Date of Conference:

3-6 May 2010