Scheduled System Maintenance:
On May 6th, single article purchases and IEEE account management will be unavailable from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM ET (12:00 - 21:00 UTC). We apologize for the inconvenience.
By Topic

Clustered-Control Algorithm for Wireless Multimedia Sensor Network Communications

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Huang Haiping ; Coll. of Comput., Nanjing Univ. of Posts & Telecommun., Nanjing, China ; Wang Ruchuan

Wireless multimedia sensor network (WMSN) takes more account of dealing with information-intensive data such as audio, image and video, it has much more wide foreground for application than traditional wireless sensor network. It has significance to research topology of WMSN aimed at some characteristic such as the larger media data capacity, limitation on computation, storage & energy and the requirements of transport quality. This paper introduces a novel clustered-control algorithm based on geographic locations, energy, priority of coverage, and multi-layers architecture. Detailed process is proposed including cluster heads' election method and multimedia data transmission mechanism. The theoretical analysis and simulation experiments indicate that our improved algorithm can strengthen routing function, prolong the lifetime of network and reduce energy consumption.

Published in:

Communications and Mobile Computing (CMC), 2010 International Conference on  (Volume:3 )

Date of Conference:

12-14 April 2010