By Topic

Optimal size of energy storage to accommodate high penetration of renewable resources in WECC system

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
Yuri Makarov ; Energy Science and Technology Division, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, P.O. Box 999, MSIN: K5-20, Richland, WA - 99352, USA ; Pengwei Du ; Michael CW Kintner-Meyer ; Chunlian Jin
more authors

The variability and intermittence of wind power will cause the large imbalance power that demands more expensive ancillary service. Energy storage, fast response but costly, is a viable solution to suppress the fluctuation of wind power. However, the determination of energy storage is a great challenge given the load demand and wind power uncertainties This paper proposes to use discrete Fourier transform (DFT) to decompose the imbalance power into different time-varying components, i.e., intra-week, intra-day, intra-hour and real-time. Therefore, the imbalance power to be compensated by energy storage can be quantified. By compensating the fast-changing imbalance power (the slowly changing power is provided by the conventional generators), energy storage can be optimized to accommodate integration of high penetration wind power. The simulation results on the 2030 Western Electricity Coordinating Council (WECC) system demonstrate effectiveness and efficiency of this approach.

Published in:

Innovative Smart Grid Technologies (ISGT), 2010

Date of Conference:

19-21 Jan. 2010