By Topic

Coordinated sampling sans Origin-Destination identifiers: Algorithms and analysis

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Sekar, V. ; Carnegie Mellon Univ., PA, USA ; Gupta, A. ; Reiter, M.K. ; Hui Zhang

Flow monitoring is used for a wide range of network management applications. Many such applications require that the monitoring infrastructure provide high flow coverage and support fine-grained network-wide objectives. Coordinated Sampling (cSamp) is a recent proposal that improves the monitoring capabilities of ISPs to address these demands. In this paper, we address a key deployment impediment for cSamp-like solutions-the need for routers to determine the Origin-Destination (OD) pair of each packet. In practice, however, this information is not available without expensive changes. We present a new framework called cSamp-T, in which each router uses only local information, instead of the OD-pair identifiers. Leveraging results from the theory of maximizing submodular set functions, cSamp-T provides near-ideal performance in maximizing the total flow coverage in the network. Further, with a small amount of targeted upgrades to a few routers, cSamp-T nearly optimally maximizes the minimum fractional coverage across all OD-pairs. We demonstrate these results on a range of real topologies.

Published in:

Communication Systems and Networks (COMSNETS), 2010 Second International Conference on

Date of Conference:

5-9 Jan. 2010