By Topic

Generation of Role Based Access Control Security Policies for Java Collaborative Applications

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Briffaut, J. ; LIFO - EA 402, ENSI de Bourges, Bourges, France ; Kauffmann-Tourkestansky, X. ; Lalande, J.-F. ; Smari, W.W.

Java collaborative applications are increasingly and widely used in the form of applets or servlets, as a way to easily download and execute small programs on one's computer. However, security associated with these downloaded applications, even if it exists, is not easily manageable. Most of the time, it relies on the user's ability to define a security policy for his virtual machine, which is undesirable. This paper proposes to integrate an RBAC mechanism for any Java application. It introduces a simple tag process that allows the developer to incorporate the appropriate policy in the source code of his application. The user is endowed with the ability to choose a role that corresponds to the required level of trust required in order for him to embed the policy in the executed code. A case study of a collaborative application shows how works the proposed API for managing roles, generating policies and logging in. At the end, a discussion about the dynamic enforcement of the generated policies is presented.

Published in:

Emerging Security Information, Systems and Technologies, 2009. SECURWARE '09. Third International Conference on

Date of Conference:

18-23 June 2009