By Topic

A novel approach to musical genre classification using probabilistic latent semantic analysis model

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
Zhi Zeng ; Inst. of Autom., Chinese Acad. of Sci., Beijing, China ; Shuwu Zhang ; Heping Li ; Wei Liang
more authors

A novel approach based on the probabilistic latent semantic analysis model (pLSA) for automatic musical genre classification is proposed in this paper. Unlike traditional usage, the pLSA is used to model musical genre instead of single music signal in the proposed approach. First, an unsupervised clustering algorithm is utilized to group temporal segments in music signals into several natural clusters. By this means, each music signal is decomposed into a bag of ldquoaudio wordsrdquo. Subsequently, the pLSA model of each musical genre is trained through a new iterative training procedure and well-known EM algorithm. This training procedure can iteratively update the pLSA model parameters by discriminatively computing weight of each training music signal and evidently improve the model's discriminative performance. Finally, these models can be used to classify new unseen music signals. Experiments on two commonly utilized databases show that our pLSA based approach can give promising results and the iterative learning procedure is effective.

Published in:

Multimedia and Expo, 2009. ICME 2009. IEEE International Conference on

Date of Conference:

June 28 2009-July 3 2009