By Topic

Fairness-Aware Resource Allocation in OFDMA Cooperative Relaying Network

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
Hongxing Li ; Inst. of Wireless Commun. Technol., Shanghai Jiao Tong Univ., Shanghai, China ; Hanwen Luo ; Xinbing Wang ; Chengyu Lin
more authors

This paper investigates the resource allocation problem in the downlink of OFDMA cooperative relaying networks with one source (base station) and multiple relay and destination nodes. Assuming that the base station knows all the instantaneous channel gains of all links, we propose a dynamic joint subchannel and power allocation (SPA) scheme whose objective is to maximize the worst user's data rate with the constraint of total transmission power. Since the optimal solution to this combinatorial problem is extremely computationally complex, we propose a low-complexity suboptimal algorithm that allocates subchannel and power separately. In the proposed algorithm, subchannels are firstly paired by relay nodes according to their equivalent channel gains and then assigned to a specific user. Subsequently, an optimal power distribution algorithm is designed for the proposed subchannel allocation (SA) scheme. The simulation results show that the performance of the proposed algorithm approaches asymptotically to that of the optimal one, and maximal fairness is guaranteed for all users.

Published in:

Communications, 2009. ICC '09. IEEE International Conference on

Date of Conference:

14-18 June 2009