By Topic

The Modified PPM Modulation for Underwater Wireless Optical Communication

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Sui Meihong ; Key Lab. of Submarine Geosci. & Prospecting Tech., Ocean Univ. of China, Qingdao ; Yu Xinsheng ; Zhou Zhangguo

Pulse position modulation (PPM) has the advantages of low transmitting power and better anti-noise performance and has been used to be an attractive option for optical wireless communications. However, the limitation in low bandwidth utilization makes the PPM modulation de-efficiency for a large amount of data transmission, e.g. multimedia information. In this paper, we proposed and demonstrated a modified PPM transceiver scheme to improve the transmission performance. The modified PPM transceiver system may be used for image transmission for designing underwater optical communication system. The simulation results of bandwidth, transmission power and anti-noise performance at the same signal to noise ratio conditions is presented and compared. It is shown that the modified PPM modulation scheme has the similar performance of the PPM in error controlling with improved bandwidth utilization. Furthermore, it can be more convenient to combine the error control coding to improve the reliability of signal transmission and lower the complexity of the transceiver.

Published in:

Communication Software and Networks, 2009. ICCSN '09. International Conference on

Date of Conference:

27-28 Feb. 2009