By Topic

Medium access in cognitive radio networks: A competitive multi-armed bandit framework

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Lifeng Lai ; Dept. of Electr. Eng., Princeton Univ., Princeton, NJ ; Hai Jiang ; Poor, H.V.

This paper considers the design of medium access control protocols for cognitive radio networks in a highly dynamic environment. In the scenario under consideration, multiple cognitive users seek to opportunistically exploit the availability of empty frequency bands within parts of the radio spectrum having multiple bands. The availability of each channel is modelled as a Markov chain. The scenario in which the parameters of the Markov chain of each channel is known is first considered. An optimal symmetric strategy that maximizes the total throughput of the cognitive users is developed. Next, the situation in which the parameters of each channel are unknown a priori is considered. This problem is modelled as a competitive multiuser bandit problem, a non-trivial extension of the classical bandit problem. Low complexity medium access protocols, which strike an optimal balance between exploration and exploitation in such competitive environments, are developed. The operating points of these low complexity protocols are shown to converge to those of the scenario in which the parameters are known.

Published in:

Signals, Systems and Computers, 2008 42nd Asilomar Conference on

Date of Conference:

26-29 Oct. 2008