By Topic

Dynamic Power Saving Mechanism for Mobile Station in the IEEE 802.16e Systems

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Sang-Wook Kwon ; Commun. & Inf. Syst. Lab., KAIST, Daejeon ; Dong-Ho Cho

In wireless communication system, power saving mechanism is a key issue since the mobile station operates depending on limited power. Hence, the IEEE 802.16e system provides three types of power saving classes (PSC I, PSC II and PSC III) for mobile station (MS) to reduce the power consumption. When the MS is using two or more power saving classes, the MS reduces the power consumption only during time interval that does not overlap with any listening window of active PSC called the unavailability interval. Therefore, in this paper, based on the IEEE 802.16e standard, we propose a dynamic power saving mechanism (DPSM) that increases unavailability interval when the MS is using two or more power saving classes (PSCs). The proposed mechanism adjusts sleep window of PSC I (III) to match the start point of listening window in PSC I (III) with that of listening window in PSC II. By doing so, the MS can reduce the listening time, and can increase the unavailability interval. Through analysis and simulation results, we show that the proposed DPSM can reduce the power consumption of MS with two or more PSCs considerably compared with conventional scheme.

Published in:

Vehicular Technology Conference, 2009. VTC Spring 2009. IEEE 69th

Date of Conference:

26-29 April 2009