By Topic

16x16 Multiuser MIMO Testbed Employing Simple Adaptive Modulation Scheme

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
Nishimori, K. ; NTT Network Innovation Labs., NTT Corp., Yokosuka ; Kudo, R. ; Honma, N. ; Takatori, Y.
more authors

Recently, the multiuser multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO) system has attracted much attention as a technology that enhances the total system capacity by generating a virtual MIMO channel between a base station and multiple terminal stations. Although extensive evaluations are needed because the number of system parameters in MU-MIMO is much larger compared to the single user (SU)-MIMO, the performance of MU-MIMO in actual environments is still not well understood. This paper describes the features and effectiveness of a 16times16 multi-user (MU)- MIMO testbed in an actual indoor environment. Moreover, we propose a simple adaptive modulation scheme for MU-MIMO-OFDM transmission that employs a bit interleaver for the frequency and space domains. Finally, we evaluate the frequency efficiency by obtaining the bit error rate of this testbed in an actual indoor environment. We clarify that 16times4times4-user MU-MIMO transmission using the proposed modulation scheme achieves the frequency utilization of 870 Mbps and 1 Gbps (SNR: 31 and 36 dB) with 20 MHz bandwidth, respectively.

Published in:

Vehicular Technology Conference, 2009. VTC Spring 2009. IEEE 69th

Date of Conference:

26-29 April 2009