By Topic

Queuing Network Models for Multi-Channel P2P Live Streaming Systems

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
D. Wu ; Dept. of Comput. & Inf. Sci., Polytech. Inst. of NYU, Brooklyn, NY ; Y. Liu ; K. Ross

In recent years there have been several large-scale deployments of P2P live video systems. Existing and future P2P live video systems will offer a large number of channels, with users switching frequently among the channels. In this paper, we develop infinite-server queueing network models to analytically study the performance of multi-channel P2P streaming systems. Our models capture essential aspects of multi-channel video systems, including peer channel switching, peer churn, peer bandwidth heterogeneity, and Zipf-like channel popularity. We apply the queueing network models to two P2P streaming designs: the isolated channel design (ISO) and the View-Upload Decoupling (VUD) design. For both of these designs, we develop efficient algorithms to calculate critical performance measures, develop an asymptotic theory to provide closed-form results when the number of peers approaches infinity, and derive near- optimal provisioning rules for assigning peers to groups in VUD. We use the analytical results to compare VUD with ISO. We show that VUD design generally performs significantly better, particularly for systems with heterogeneous channel popularities and streaming rates.

Published in:


Date of Conference:

19-25 April 2009