By Topic

Electronically steerable large-scale ultrasound phased-array for noninvasive transcranial therapy

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Junho Song ; Dept. of Med. Biophys., Univ. of Toronto, Toronto, ON ; Hynynen, K.

A hemispherical focused ultrasound phased-array was designed and fabricated for noninvasive transcranial therapy. The array had a diameter of 31 cm. It was constructed with 1372 custom-made 6 mm long, 10 mm and 7.2 mm outer and inner diameter, cylindrical shape PZT-4 tube elements. The elements were driven at length-mode resonance (306 kHz) or third harmonic (840 kHz) frequency, which reduced the electrical impedance at least an order of magnitude compared with standard PZT plates driven at thickness mode. A scanning laser vibrometer was used to demonstrate clear length mode oscillation of the element. The ultrasound field measurements in water showed that the effective beam steering ranges, measured at a 50% of its maximum pressure-squared amplitude, were 100 times 100 times 80 mm3 at 306 kHz and 30 times 30 times 30 mm3 at 840 kHz, respectively. The focal spot sizes at the geometric focus were approximately 2.3 mm in diameter at 306 kHz and 0.7 mm in diameter at 840 kHz, respectively. The functionality of the array, including its beam steering and focusing capabilities, was evaluated with an ex vivo human skull.

Published in:

Ultrasonics Symposium, 2008. IUS 2008. IEEE

Date of Conference:

2-5 Nov. 2008