By Topic

Adaptive Beamforming for Co-channel Interference Cancellation in STC-OFDM Systems

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Thanit Charoenyingsomboon ; Fac. of Eng., Dept. of Electron. & Telecommun. Eng., King Mongkut's Univ. of Technol. Thonburi, Bangkok ; Raungrong Suleesathira

The space-time coded orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (STC-OFDM) system is a promising scheme for broadband communications due to the benefits from the diversity gain within multiple input multiple output (MIMO) of space-time coding (STC) and the OFDM modulation technique to mitigate inter-symbol interferences (ISI). However, STC insults in an impairment of the system ability to suppress interferences as the signals transmitted from two transmit antennas are superposed and interfered at the receive antennas. In this paper, we developed an adaptive beamforming based on minimum mean squared error (MMSE) algorithm with broad null synthesis to reduce co-channel interferences (CCI) for the STC-OFDM system. We compare the proposed beamformer with the null steering beamformer which requires known directions of arrival (DOAs). The space-time decoder corresponding to both beamformers are given by the maximum likelihood rules. The performance improvement is achieved as shown from the simulation results.

Published in:

Communications and Mobile Computing, 2009. CMC '09. WRI International Conference on  (Volume:1 )

Date of Conference:

6-8 Jan. 2009