By Topic

Optimization of PM Brushless DC Motor Drive Speed Controller Using Modification of Ziegler-Nichols Methods Based on Bodé Plots

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Crnosija, P. ; Fac. of Electr. Eng. & Comput., Zagreb Univ. ; Krishnan, R. ; Bjazic, T.

The most commonly used methods for design of the industrial speed controllers are: experimental, root locus, frequency and optimization methods. The most commonly used experimental methods are Ziegler-Nichols methods: stability margin and step response function. Ziegler-Nichols methods are applied for design of speed controller of PM brushless DC motor drive. Both methods give the controller parameters, which result in relatively high overshoot in response to reference signal. Therefore, optimal speed controller parameters are determined by modification of Ziegler-Nichols methods based on Bode's frequency diagrams. Thereby, controller integral time constant is increased and controller gain is reduced (increased) to achieve faster and better load torque compensation than traditional controller synthesis based on compensation of maximum time constant of drive. Desired overshoot in response to reference change is achieved by adding a first order filter at the drive input. Synthesis results and responses are given in this paper

Published in:

Power Electronics and Motion Control Conference, 2006. EPE-PEMC 2006. 12th International

Date of Conference:

Aug. 30 2006-Sept. 1 2006