By Topic

An Improved Distributed Cluster Organization Algorithm of Wireless Sensor Networks

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Jun-Feng Zhao ; School of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Chengdu 610054, China. E-MAIL: jun ; Jian-Ping Li

Dynamic cluster organization is a hotspot research field for wireless sensor networks. A new algorithm of building and regroup clusters - improved distributed cluster organization algorithm (IDCOA) is proposed in this paper. By IDCOA, nodes are clustered via the way that some nodes propose invitations, and the other sensors respond. Member nodes in the networks save the cluster's id, but header nodes do not have to save its member's id. The regroup of clusters is considered also. On one hand, the exiting nodes don't affect on the other nodes; on the other hand, the new nodes can join in the network effectively. To describe the IDCOA algorithm, six time-related parameters are defined to be used for timer control; seven message types are defined to be used for nodes communication; and ten steps are defined as the implement of the IDCOA process. The simulate result indicates that IDCOA algorithm has well performance on the clustered rate and the number of cluster headers for wireless sensor networks.

Published in:

Apperceiving Computing and Intelligence Analysis, 2008. ICACIA 2008. International Conference on

Date of Conference:

13-15 Dec. 2008