By Topic

The Comparison of Two Typical Corner Detection Algorithms

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Li-hui Zou ; Dept. of Autom. Control, Beijing Inst. of Technol., Beijing ; Jie Chen ; Juan Zhang ; Li-hua Dou

Corners in images represent a lot of important information. Extracting corners accurately is significant to image processing, which can reduce much of the calculations. In this paper, two widely used corner detection algorithms, SUSAN and Harris corner detection algorithms which are both based on intensity, were compared in stability, noise immunity and complexity quantificationally via stability factor eta, anti-noise factor rho and the runtime of each algorithm. It concluded that Harris corner detection algorithm was superior to SUSAN corner detection algorithm on the whole. And the comparison result was applied to an image matching experiment. It was verified that the quantitative evaluations of these two corner detection algorithms were valid through calculating match efficiency, defined as correct matching corner pairs dividing by matching time, which can reflect the performances of a corner detection algorithm comprehensively. The work of this paper can provide a direction to the improvement and the utilization of these two corner detection algorithms.

Published in:

Intelligent Information Technology Application, 2008. IITA '08. Second International Symposium on  (Volume:2 )

Date of Conference:

20-22 Dec. 2008