By Topic

Energy-Efficient Data Aggregation Protocol for Location-Aware Wireless Sensor Networks

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
Hong Min ; Sch. of Comput. Sci. & Eng., Seoul Nat. Univ., Seoul, South Korea ; Sangho Yi ; Junyoung Heo ; Yookun Cho
more authors

The energy is the most critical resource in wireless sensor networks. Many energy efficient techniques have been studied especially in communication protocol. Among these protocols, PEGASIS proposed by Lindsey is the most superior interms of energy efficiency. In PEGASIS, all sensor nodes aggregate and transmit data along the single chain. However, this single chain causes some problems such as delay, unexpected long transmission and non-directional transmission to the sink. To resolve delay problem, PEGASIS cuts the chain into several chains. In this way, the delay can be decreased but there is new problem, wireless interference. In this paper, we propose a new chain construction algorithm to resolve above problems. The proposed algorithm minimizes the delay without the wireless interferences and maximizes the energy efficiency by removing the non-directional transmission when transmitting packets to the sink node on wireless sensor networks. Our simulation results show that our proposed algorithm can minimize the delay without expense of energy consumption.

Published in:

2008 IEEE International Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Processing with Applications

Date of Conference:

10-12 Dec. 2008