By Topic

LCO-MAC: A Low Latency, Low Control Overhead MAC Protocol for Wireless Sensor Networks

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Kien Nguyen ; Grad. Univ. for Adv. Studies, Tokyo ; Yusheng Ji

In wireless sensor networks (WSNs), a duty-cycling scheme is typically applied to the medium access control (MAC) protocol to reduce energy consumption due to idle listening. However, this scheme introduces huge end-to-end latency and still suffers from a large control packet overhead. We propose a new MAC protocol with low latency and low control overhead for WSNs use (the LCO-MAC). In our protocol, a DATA packet can be transmitted through multiple hops in a single duty cycle to shorten end-to-end latency. To reduce energy consumption caused by control packet overhead, we force one packet to play more than one role. In the initial transmission period, a control packet acts as an RTS (request to send) for a downstream node and a CTS (clear to send) for an upstream node. In the actual data transmission period, a DATA packet keeps its original DATA role for the downstream node, but also plays an ACK (acknowledgment) role for the upstream node. Our simulation using ns-2 has shown that LCO-MAC enables a notable improvement in energy efficiency and decreases end-to-end latency compared to those of RMAC.

Published in:

Mobile Ad-hoc and Sensor Networks, 2008. MSN 2008. The 4th International Conference on

Date of Conference:

10-12 Dec. 2008