By Topic

Robust Semi-Blind Estimation for Beamforming Based MIMO Wireless Communication

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

3 Author(s)
Chandra R. Murthy ; Dept. of ECE, Indian Inst. of Sci., Bangalore ; Aditya K. Jagannatham ; Bhaskar D. Rao

In this paper, we present robust semi-blind (SB) algorithms for the estimation of beamforming vectors for multiple-input multiple-output wireless communication. The transmitted symbol block is assumed to comprise of a known sequence of training (pilot) symbols followed by information bearing blind (unknown) data symbols. Analytical expressions are derived for the robust SB estimators of the MIMO receive and transmit beamforming vectors. These robust SB estimators employ a preliminary estimate obtained from the pilot symbol sequence and leverage the second-order statistical information from the blind data symbols. We employ the theory of Lagrangian duality to derive the robust estimate of the receive beamforming vector by maximizing an inner product, while constraining the channel estimate to lie in a confidence sphere centered at the initial pilot estimate. Two different schemes are then proposed for computing the robust estimate of the MIMO transmit beamforming vector. Simulation results presented in the end illustrate the superior performance of the robust SB estimators.

Published in:

IEEE GLOBECOM 2008 - 2008 IEEE Global Telecommunications Conference

Date of Conference:

Nov. 30 2008-Dec. 4 2008