By Topic

Dynamic QoS Adaptation for Multimedia Traffic

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$31 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

4 Author(s)
Cruvinel, L. ; Inesc-ID, Inst. Super. Tecnico Lisbon, Lisbon ; Vazao, T. ; Silva, F. ; Fonseca, A.

Quality of service for video and audio transmissions over IP is bound by the best-effort nature of this protocol. The road for achieving optimal behavior for selected flows of traffic includes better controlling and tuning one or more elements of the transmission - the characteristics of the traffic itself or the supporting hardware and software. This tuning may be static or dynamic, profile-based or adaptive. This paper presents results and insights of using an architecture for adapting QoS parameters in a DiffServ-enabled network, in an effort to dynamically reach the best choice of values in each given situation. The architecture is named distributed dynamic quality of service - DDQoS - and includes separate, but interoperating, models for the core and for the edge of the network. The momentum experienced by the transmission of multimedia content over the Internet, and the extended range of options for adapting this kind of traffic, derived from its particular characteristics when compared with other data, motivate this work on adaptation mechanisms for improving the quality of service.

Published in:

Computer Communications and Networks, 2008. ICCCN '08. Proceedings of 17th International Conference on

Date of Conference:

3-7 Aug. 2008