By Topic

Priority scheduling in mobile ad hoc networks with improved bandwidth utilization

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

5 Author(s)
R. Gunasekaran ; Department of Information Technology, Anna University, Chennai, India ; V. Rhymend Uthariaraj ; R. Rajesh ; S. Kaarthikeyan
more authors

Studies of ad hoc wireless networks are a relatively new field gaining more popularity for various new applications. In these networks, the medium access control (MAC) protocols are responsible for coordinating the access from active nodes. These protocols are of significant importance since the wireless communication channel is inherently prone to errors and unique problems such as the hidden-terminal problem, the exposed-terminal problem, and signal fading effects. This scheme is to perform a priority scheduling in wireless ad-hoc networks, with full utilization of the bandwidth available, mitigating the loss of packets incurred by the mobility of the nodes in the network. Here, two narrow busy tone packets are used to indicate the notification of a transmission by a high priority node, thus resolving the contention of the channel. Courtesy Piggybacking scheme exploits the channel dynamics and its basic idea is to let the high priority traffic help the low priority traffic by sharing unused residual bandwidth with courtesy.

Published in:

Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2008. CCECE 2008. Canadian Conference on

Date of Conference:

4-7 May 2008