By Topic

Cathode electron injection breakdown model and work function dependent TDDB lifetime for high-k / metal gate stack pMOSFETs

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

9 Author(s)
Motoyuki Sato ; Semiconductor Leading Edge Technologies, Inc. (Selete), 16-1 Onogawa, Tsukuba, Ibaraki, 305-8569, Japan ; Kikuo Yamabe ; Kenji Shiraishi ; Seiichi Miyazaki
more authors

We have investigated the time dependent dielectric breakdown (TDDB) characteristics for a high-k/metal gate pMOSFET under inversion stress. We found that electrons, injected from the cathode, being minority carriers in the gate leakage current play an important role in determining TDDB lifetime and found that the presence of oxygen vacancies in HfSiON determine the electron current mechanism in HfSiON. Since electrons from the cathode electrode flow as a tunneling current with an effective barrier height determined by the energy level of the oxygen vacancy in the HfSiON, the electron current is strongly dependent on the effective work function of the metal gate. This implies that a higher work function would be more effective in suppressing electron current, due to the elevated barrier height for electrons. Therefore the formation of a high work function metal gate is essential, not only to give low threshold voltage of pMOSFETs but also to achieve long TDDB lifetimes.

Published in:

2008 IEEE International Reliability Physics Symposium

Date of Conference:

April 27 2008-May 1 2008