By Topic

Scalable VLSI architecture for K-best lattice decoders

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Mahdi Shabany ; The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Toronto, Canada ; P. Glenn Gulak

A scalable pipelined VLSI architecture for K-best lattice decoders featuring an efficient operation over infinite lattices is proposed. The proposed architecture operates at a significantly lower complexity than currently reported schemes. The key contribution is a means of expanding/visiting the intermediate nodes of the search tree on-demand, rather than exhaustively along with three types of distributed sorters operating in a pipelined structure. The combined expansion and sorting cores are able to find the K best candidates in just K clock cycles. Its support of the unbounded lattice decoding distinguishes our work from previous K-best strategies. Since the expansion and sorting cores cooperate on a data-driven basis, the architecture is well-suited for a pipelined parallel VLSI implementation. The proposed architecture has the lowest latency reported to-date, fixed critical path independent of the constellation order, on-demand expansion scheme, efficient distribute sorters, pipelined high-throughput implementation, and is scalable to higher number of antennas/constellation orders.

Published in:

2008 IEEE International Symposium on Circuits and Systems

Date of Conference:

18-21 May 2008