By Topic

Performance of 802.11n WLAN with transmit antenna selection in measured indoor channels

Sign In

Cookies must be enabled to login.After enabling cookies , please use refresh or reload or ctrl+f5 on the browser for the login options.

Formats Non-Member Member
$33 $13
Learn how you can qualify for the best price for this item!
Become an IEEE Member or Subscribe to
IEEE Xplore for exclusive pricing!
close button

puzzle piece

IEEE membership options for an individual and IEEE Xplore subscriptions for an organization offer the most affordable access to essential journal articles, conference papers, standards, eBooks, and eLearning courses.

Learn more about:

IEEE membership

IEEE Xplore subscriptions

2 Author(s)
Zhuo Chen ; Wireless Technologies Laboratory, CSIRO ICT Centre, Marsfield, NSW 2122, Australia ; Hajime Suzuki

Transmit antenna selection (TAS) has been known to be an effective technique to obtain the benefits of a multiple- input-multiple-output (MIMO) system while dramatically reducing the hardware complexity. In this paper, the bit and packet error performance of an IEEE 802.11n wireless local area network (WLAN) with TAS is investigated based on three measured MIMO-orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) correlated channels. The propagation scenarios under investigation include an atrium with and without line-of-sight (LoS), and a lecture theater with LoS. The simulation results reveal that TAS technique could dramatically improve the error performance of an IEEE 802.11n WLAN. For all the three measured channels, TAS could achieve a signal-to-noise (SNR) improvement by at least 6 dB. It is also found that the TAS technique could achieve a larger SNR improvement in a correlated MIMO-OFDM channel than in an i.i.d channel. Therefore, we prove in this paper that TAS is a powerful technique to further improve the error performance and enhance the range of an IEEE 802.11n WLAN.

Published in:

Communications Theory Workshop, 2008. AusCTW 2008. Australian

Date of Conference:

Jan. 30 2008-Feb. 1 2008